Chablis Wine Tasting Evening

Last saturyday my wife and I were invited to a wine party hosted by one of our friends. The theme this time was Chablis. Chablis is a white wine from Burgundy, France produced with Chardonnay grapes. The appellation Chablis aoc is divided into 3 subregions: Chablis Gran Cru, Peite Chablis and Chablis Premier Cru. The dinner was quite similar to previous dinners that we attended and hosted. Read here about our Italian wine dinner (part 1, part 2).

Throughout the evening we tasted three different Chablis. Should you have tried any of them then please let me know what you think about them.

We started the dinner with a 2011 Chablis Grand Cru Les Clos from Domaine Jean Paul & Benoit. Retail price according to Wine Searcher: $63 Les Clos has a fine, intense nose with hints of flint, lemon, apples and white flowers. The palate was amazing. Lots of apple, and citrus fruit. Les Clos is a little bit crisp, has a great structure and is well-balanced. The wine is very dry and has a lingering finish. A must-try!

I thought that this was a great way to start off a dinner but I also thought that it was going to be hard to top this wine.

The second Chablis was a 2009 Domaine William Fevre. Average retail price: $26. On the nose I only found lemon. In the mouth the wine has gripping minerality and notes of green apple and lime. The finish was unexpectedly short. Not that good – especially compared to the Les Clos. I think the wine was over its peak. The QPR could be better here.

The last Chablis that we tried was a 2007 Renne et Vincent Dauvissant Premier Cru. Average retail price: $77. In the glass a pale straw yellow. The nose is a bit closed. On the palate, fresh, salty, stony minerals and taut. Brisk acidity and soft fruit notes. Persistently long finish.

I’m still undecided whether the Premier Cru from Renne et Vincent Dauvissant or the Les Clos is my favorite. Both are outstanding Chablis that I highly recommend. I am a bit disappointed with the Chablis from Domaine William Fevre but it’s also not fair to taste that wine together next to two outstanding Chablis. Looking forward to drink them again.

I have a quick question for you. I’m hosting a dinner next weekend and for dessert I want to serve almond biscotti. What type of wine should I serve with them? Trout will be the main dish (paired with a Pinot Bianco). I still haven’t decided on the appetizer. Any wine suggestions for the almond biscotti are very much appreciated!

That’s all for today. Enjoy your sunday evening folks!

12 thoughts on “Chablis Wine Tasting Evening

  1. Way to go for a wine dinner!

    Regarding your question, I would suggest to pair the biscotti with Vin Santo – that is the traditional Tuscan pairing. Especially around Florence it’s common to serve biscotti with Vin Santo. The biscotti are then supposed to get dipped into the wine. Fattoria Romagnola produces an excellent Vin Santo.
    You could also go for a passito from Sicily (for example Ben Rye) but if you find a good Vin Santo then I suggest that. Hope this helps!

  2. It is interesting that you started the dinner with probably the best wine of the pack – but I know that there are multiple philosophies around the order of the wines, glad you enjoyed your wines.
    As far as your question goes, look for any dessert wine with an age on it – as dessert wine ages, it picks up the almond undertones in many cases. If you can find 8-10 old Riesling of BA or TBA levels, or may be even Sauternes/Barsac, they should work well with your dessert. For the younger (and less expensive) wines, I would try Australian Muscat or some late harvest wines pretty much from anywhere in the world.

    • 10 year old riesling? do they even exist 😛 I will see if I can find one because I never tried such an old riesling – i wonder how they taste.
      thank you for your recommendation talkavino!

      Regarding the order of the Chablis I can only say that the host decided which wine we drink first. I think it would have been better to start with the Domaine William Fevre and to finish with the Les Clos.

  3. Frank, really good to see you back full speed! 🙂
    As to your question, if you ask an Italian, of course almond biscotti call for Vin Santo! 🙂
    For a different take, Anatoli (AKA Talkavino) offers great advice too: Sauternes/Barsac or an Italian muffato also came to mind when I read your question.
    Take care

    • Thanks for your recommendation, Stefano 🙂 I found a TBA in one of the wine shops but I also bought a vin santo. I think pairing food and wine geographically is one of the best ways. You and Julian pointed out that the traditional pairing with almond biscotti is vin santo so that’s why I decided to go with a vin santo.
      Only bought the TBA out of curiosity because I’ve never tried one before 😛

  4. Almond Biscotti With Vin Santo And TBA – Wine Talks

Leave a Reply

