2009 Domaine Huet Vouvray ‘Premiere Trie’ – France

You might have noticed that I haven’t posted anything in the last few days. I was out of town for a meeting. One night we went with a few business partners to a restaurant in San Francisco. We ate very well and of course we drank wine.

Since I didn’t pick the restaurant it was not up to me to pick the wine. My collegeue decided to go with a white wine from Domaine Huet Vouvray. The winery produces high end wines in the Loire region of France. He selected a 2009 vintage of the ‘Premiere Trie’ Appellation Vouvray Controle.

It is made with 100% Chenin Blanc grapes. ABV: 12.5%. Ginger, lime, white peach, orange and kiwi on the nose. I tasted melon, lemon and honeysuckle. Long finish. Flavorful aftertaste. One of the best white wines from the Loire that I drank in recent years.
Wine Ratings: WE 97 WS 96. I would give the wine at least a 97. Maybe even more. The wine completely impressed me. Average retail price according to wine searcher: $68.

I’m very happy that my colleague picked this wine. This was my first wine from Domaine Huet Vouvray and it was world changing. I can’t imagine that I will enjoy any other white wine in the near future after this!

What is your opinion on this wine?.

8 thoughts on “2009 Domaine Huet Vouvray ‘Premiere Trie’ – France

    • Yes it was fantastic. A very, very good white wine.
      I’m glad though that I didn’t had to pay the bill for the bottle at the restaurant 😉
      Restaurants always overprice the wines they serve.

      • Well, I have read that restaurants make most of their money with the drinks, not the foods because the ingredients in food are just more expensive. So I expect restaurants to overcharge on booze. Which is why BYOB is so great.

      • Yes BOYB are a good idea but most that I visited had bad food. And when I go to a restaurant for work propose then I need to make sure that colleagues and clients like the food, too.

    • Thanks for the comment, cupcaketravels.
      I’ve had a good amount of Vouvray sparklers. They have a very good price quality ratio.
      Travelling around European wine regions is so much fun. Much more fun than travelling through Napa Valley. I’m happy for you that you had the chance to visit Vouvray 🙂

Leave a Reply

