2011 San Michele Appiano ‘Anger’ – Italy

I’ve been kinda busy latelty so I hadn’t had the time to actually write a full post. In the last days I drank quite a few good wines. One of them was a Pinot Grigio from San Michele Appiano. Pinot Grigio?! Yes Pinot Grigio. I know that Pinot Grigio is associated with low-end wines but believe me, this one is top-notch stuff!

The grapes, 100% pinot grigio, come from a single-vineyard named Anger which also gave the wine its name. The grapes aged in stainless steel. In the glass a light yellow color. Intense fruit aromas.  Especially ripe pear and apple. The wine has a mineral touch and a delicate acidity. Well-balanced. Very long finish.

‘Anger’ is far from being the typical Pinot Grigio that you find at Wal-Mart for 4$. Instead, this is a modern wine that shows the beauty of this grape.

Wine goes perfectly together with seafood. I had it at an Italian restaurant together with European seabass (on the menu it said branzino and the waiter explained to me that the fish is more known as European seabass in the US.)

If you want to buy the wine you can find it online for around $15-$16. It’s worth knowing that this wine got the highest possible Gambero Rosso rating.

5 thoughts on “2011 San Michele Appiano ‘Anger’ – Italy

  1. Very nice review as usual, Frank!
    San Michele Appiano is a great winery and you are absolutely right: their Anger is a solid Pinot Grigio with a very good quality/price ratio.
    Should you stumble upon them, you may also like the Pinot Grigio and the Sauvignon Blanc in their “Sanct Valentin” top line. Good stuff!
    Take care

    • I will have a look at their ‘Sanct Valentin’ line! Thanks for letting me know about it.
      This Pinot Grigio was quite something so I was wondering if you can recommend me a Pinot Grigio from Veneto. I haven’t had any good ones from there but that is because I haven’t had many either. I red that the grape has huge success in the Veneto so I might as well keep looking for a good one 🙂

      • Well, let me preface my answer by saying that I am not a huge fan of Pinot Grigio so I did not try too many of them.
        Having said that, in my view in Italy your best bets for PG are Friuli and Trentino Alto Adige. As to Veneto, I read good things about those made by producers Bonotto Delle Tezze and Fattori, but I cannot vouch for them as I have not tried either one.

Leave a comment