Franciacorta or Prosecco di Valdobbiadene?

When it comes to Italian “bubbles” there are two choices: Either Franciacorta or Prosecco di Valdobbiadene. I usually tend the sparklers from Franciacorta in Lombardy, Italy. I admit that Franciacorta can be quite difficult to find. Especially if you don’t live in or close to a very large city.

Ca’ del Bosco is one of my favorite producers. Their wines tend to have a great perlage, are in most cases aromatic and most of them are brut.

Cuvee Prestige is Ca’ del Boscos primary wine. It retails for 29$. 75% Chardonnay. 15% Pinot Noir and 10% Pinot Blanc are used in the production for this non-vintage sparkler. Wine aged 28 months in stainless steel tanks.

I love how balanced the wine is. It convinces me also with a very long finish. The perlage was extremely long liked I mentioned above πŸ™‚

The bottle shape and logo is quite nice I think. This sparkler is great as aperitif but also works for most big occasions. If you stumble over it then it’s worth a shot. My rating 8/10.

7 thoughts on “Franciacorta or Prosecco di Valdobbiadene?

  1. Great post and great choice for a solid Franciacorta with a good quality/price ratio.
    One fundamental difference between Franciacorta and Prosecco (which makes the comparison between the two definitely slanted toward the former) is that Franciacorta is a Methode Champenoise spumante, with generally finer perlage and a more complex bouquet and structure compared to a Prosecco that (with very few exceptions) is a Methode Charmat-Martinotti spumante, simpler, cheaper, fruitier, easier…
    Personally, given the choice between a Franciacorta and even the best of Prosecco’s, I would not hesitate one second and would reach for the former any day πŸ™‚
    If you enjoy trying out some other excellent Franciacorta brands beside Ca’ del Bosco, you may want to consider Bellavista, Ferghettina, Gatti and Berlucchi. All solid choices. And then there’s Trento DOC… πŸ˜‰

    • Thanks for commenting Stefano πŸ™‚ Really appreciate it!

      You’re absolutely right that the Methode Charmant is cheaper. The sparkling wine from Ca del Bosco is not cheap but it is of good quality, In my opinion we get lots of low quality wine from Italy here in the US – at least that’s my impression. The times I’ve visited Italy they tasted often better than the average Italian wine that you find in a wine store in the States.

      I’m not familiar with Ferghettina and Gatti yet. The Franciacorta from Bellavista are quite good. High quality Italian sparklers are among my favorite wine so I will try to see if I find some from Gatti and/or Ferghettina! Ferrari makes some good sparkling wines, too but they are from Treviso and not from the Franciacorta.
      Thanks a lot for the recommendations. You know so much about wine – it’s incredible!

      • Thank you for a very nice and refreshing post, Frank!
        You know, I totally agree with you that so much bad, cheap Italian wine makes it into the US unfortunately and there is still so much misinformation about Italian wine, especially sparkling wines. And the thing that irks me most is that this not only among consumers (who clearly cannot know unless someone explains things) but also among many retailers. You have no idea how many blank stares I have seen when I asked a few wine stores in my area if they had any Franciacorta… Really depressing.
        So I do what you do, I have selected a few reliable online wine stores which carry a nice selection of Italian wines and I get it shipped to my doorstep (I am in New England)!
        You can find the base Ferghettina in the US, which in my view is plenty good. Should you have difficulties finding a retailer, just let me know and I will email you a link of the store I use. I have not been able to find Gatti in the US myself, which is unfortunate. If I succeed, I will let you know though, because it is really good.
        Despite, as you correctly said, not being a Franciacorta, Ferrari is also a very good methode champenoise sparkler: it comes from the other top Italian appellation for methode champenoise sparkling wines, Trento DOC. If you manage to lay your hands on a bottle of their Ferrari Perle’ or even better (but more expensive) Perle’ Nero I promise you will not regret it!
        And, thank you so much for your nice words, but I only know a bit about wine, mostly Italy, some France and a little bit of the United States. One of the things that really made me appreciate wine in a more “scientific” way was going through the sommelier certification course of the Italian Sommelier Association. They really teach you a lot and you actually learn something. And as a nice plus, you get to drink some pretty good wines in the process! πŸ˜‰
        Finally, I really like your blog and your wine reviews, you pick good and interesting wines and your tasting notes are short, well researched and to the point. Really enjoyable.
        Now I promise I will shut up! πŸ™‚
        Thanks again!

    • My favorite online retailer offers Ferghettina. I didn’t even know about it! I red some good things about Ferghettina the other day. Now I’m looking forward to try one of their sparklers.
      Jut like you said, there seems to be no US-retailer for Gatti.

      I will have a look for Ferrari’s Perle Nero. I’ve tried the regular Perle and it was fantastic. Ferriari’s RosΓ¨ is in my opinion a really good sparking wine, too.

      Sometimes it makes me sad when I see Prosecco with strawberry flavor or with peach flavor in stores. I hope people don’t think that this is real Italian sparkling wine (They taste not like the real Bellini/Rossini, more like wine with artificial flavoring)

      How long was your seminar at the Italian Sommelier Association?

      • Oh Man, don’t even get me started on flavored “wine”! I think those producers should just be outright stripped of their Italian citizenship just because of that! Blah. Totally agree with you.
        The AIS (Italian Sommelier Association) certification course is a long-term commitment, in that it involves attending a total of 45 theoretical/practical lessons (meaning, they both teach you notions and have you taste wines according to their wine tasting procedure) divided into three levels. At the end of the third level you have an exam which entails both answering several multiple choice questions, writing a few short essays in response to additional open-ended questions, perform a wine tasting accoding to the ISA standard tasting procedure and finally assessing how good of a pairing that wine is for a specific dish they serve you, following the ISA wine-food pairing procedure. If you pass the exam, you get certified.
        Going through the entire three levels and sitting for the exam took me a little short of two years. But it has been a mind-opening experience which I would gladly do all over again!

  2. I’ve never seen Ca del Bosco in California. Where did you buy it? In a store or online? I red a lot about them but never got the chance to try one..

Leave a Reply

